Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2,809 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So I’m pretty new to the LS stuff and I’m pretty sure there are some very knowledgeable people here that can shed some light on the deficiencies I have on this matter. I’ve been considering doing an LS engine and had figured on picking up a 4.8 or 5.3 but have not made any serious plans to make the acquisition of one. I was having my truck smoged at the same place I’ve been going for years and was talking to the owner of the shop while I was waiting for the smog test to be performed. I noticed there was an LS engine sitting on the floor and asked about it. He points to the truck he’s working on and says it was pulled out of that one. They replaced it with a fresh engine. I asked if it was a 4.8 or a 5.3 and he says it’s a 6.0 I need it out of here, you want it..? I said sure..

So now I’ve got an LQ4 a short block to work with and I’m studying up on all the LS info I can find but I have to make some choices. Right now, I’m going to need heads. My 6.0 came with only one #317 and no intake or valley pan. I’m figuring on an Elgin stage 2 cam 585 lift, 228/230 duration, 112 LSA. I like the torque curve and fairly square torque to horsepower rating. I been watching the videos from Richard Holdner from Westech performance and liked the 6.0 setup he did with this cam and the top end parts which were LS3 intake and heads. What I haven’t been able to find is the differences between the different heads. It seems like some are more desirable but I haven’t found what the actual specs are on each head that designates the differences. I can assume the some have better flow, smaller combustion chambers, and that there are cathedral and rectangular ports heads.

What are the differences between the rectangular LS3 heads vs some of the 5.3 cathedral heads like 243/799 & 706 that are more desirable..?

Also, do I need to change the springs on the heads with the Stage 2 cam?