Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys,

I have an original/low mileage '64 Nova with the 230 cubic inch straight 6. The car is in excellent condition, but I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to diagnosing/fixing issues on my own - Oil changes are about the current extent of my knowledge. I have a reputable mechanic but would prefer to learn as I go and also have an understanding of any problems before taking it in to the shop, if necessary.

Anyways, I was pulling out of Home Depot last weekend and a guy walking by mentions that it sounds like I might need a valve job. I suppose I can hear a slight pinging/knocking, but I'm not sure what exactly the issue is or how soon it should be addressed. Art over at Novas.net mentioned it may be loose rocker arms? If anyone wants to take a minute to check out the video and share your thoughts I'd really appreciate it.

Here's the video link: https://youtu.be/sVdDgj0zjZE

What do you think the issue is (if any)?

Here's a few pictures of the car - Have a great holiday weekend!

Attachments

·
Registered
1,341 Posts
Could use an adjustment. Only other thing to worry about it a wiped cam lobe thanks to the epa Nazis

·
Premium Member
3,857 Posts
That is a super nice 64 that you are driving.

Using a stethoscope could possibly help you identify the source of the noise.

I have a inline 250 with a similar but louder noise. I know its a valve issue but it runs so good, I have been ignoring it.

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
That is a super nice 64 that you are driving.

Using a stethoscope could possibly help you identify the source of the noise.

I have a inline 250 with a similar but louder noise. I know its a valve issue but it runs so good, I have been ignoring it.
Thanks onecarnut, that's a good tip. Glad you like it - smiles for miles.

·
Super Moderator
4,103 Posts