Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
298 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm transplanting a multi-leaf rear end from a 73 into my 71 and plan to complete the job in the coming days.

Should I leave the springs hooked to the axle and install the entire assembly at once? Or should I install the springs first then attach the axle?

Should I install the front eye-bolt brackets then install the shackle end? Or should I install the schackle end, then the front eye-bolt brackets?

If there are any tricks please share your experience!! Thanks!

·
Banned
26,231 Posts
not that i'm a pro... but i'd hook the front of spring to the perch first on both sides, slide in the diff while floating on jack and affix pads/plates then lift diff/spring assy with the jack... lastly assemble the rear shackles... then e brake and lines etc of course ;)

my reasoning for this install is the times i tried to do as a unit, by myself... ta line up the spring on one side with everything else still on diff, balancing on the jack can get a bit tricky... if it falls off the jack, it wouldn't be fun... i found doing the other way better for me... others may be more proficient and have a better method...

having an extra set of hands would possibly change my install procedure...

hope i helped

·
Registered
10 Posts
I have a 78 Nova and I just replaced the leaf springs. I found it easier to mount the shackle to the chassis first and then lift the leaf spring up to the shackle and then bolt that in. I had the rear end up on jack stands in the original position and just disconnected the leaf springs individually. It seemed to work pretty well. It was a little tight up top with the gas tank and the body/chassis elements, but nothing an open ended wrench couldn't fix.

I hoped that helped a little.

Joe
:chev:

·
Premium Member
928 Posts
NovaNate said:
I'm transplanting a multi-leaf rear end from a 73 into my 71 and plan to complete the job in the coming days.