Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
768 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know that when you swap in a BBC into a SBC car the 2 main concerns are the heater core and motor mounts. Well I have a set of SBC motor mounts out of a 72 that I got for free and was hoping to use these. I am converting to manual steering, I have a master cylinder with no power brake booster, and I have also removed my heater core and smoothed over that area so that's not an issue. Would it be possible to use those SBC motor mounts since I don't have the power brake booster, heater core, and have converted to manual steering or do I still need them for header clearance?

-Paul

·
Registered
748 Posts
When I did the swap a little over a year ago I used Moroso solid steel motor mounts for a small block. I left my heater box alone, even have it hooked up and working. It's a little tight but not bad. I'm running manual brakes with no power booster.

·
Registered
768 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
When I did the swap a little over a year ago I used Moroso solid steel motor mounts for a small block. I left my heater box alone, even have it hooked up and working. It's a little tight but not bad. I'm running manual brakes with no power booster.
Thanks, just the information I was looking for.

·
Premium Member
168 Posts
I am also using SBC mounts with the extreme energy polyurethane mounts, heater core in also just not hooked up.

·
Registered
768 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Do you guys think that I should go with solid mounts of the Poly mounts from Prothane? Will there be much difference?

·
Premium Member
5,858 Posts
If cost were not that much of an issue (I don't know how much difference there is) I would go with the Prothanes if they will handle the HP you plan to go with. Mine also has the solid mounts and the car shakes and rattles pretty good. For a nice dd like you have I would want a "softer" mount and less rattle...JMO