Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
508 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I think it`s time for me to put money into my (1978) 305. The first thing I want to install is an Edelbrock Performer Intake Manifold. I`m a complete noob so bare with me.

Is this a ¨big¨ job?
Will this intake manifold be compatable with the stock 2bbl Carb?
Will this give me a reasonable boost in performance?

Thankyou.

·
Premium Member
11,072 Posts
Will this intake manifold be compatable with the stock 2bbl Carb?
Will this give me a reasonable boost in performance?
Using an adaptor to mount your stock 2bbl would cost too much to notice a difference in performance, unless you have a really sensitive wallet!
The manifold and a small (570-670 cfm) 4bbl. would be a better way to go.
I would look at a Holley Street Avenger.
I hear 305's respond quite well to an intake and carb swap, but I still haven't dug into the one I have in the shop. It's in line between the 307, the 2-350's, the 383 (current build) the 377 (maybe next in line)....getting the 410" we just stuck in the Dart dialed in................

·
Premium Member
8,405 Posts
The job is fairly simple and will yield modest gains ...with a 4 barrel about 12 hp.
I would use a Quadrajet because that was a factory option with the LM-1 350.
Find a 350 '78 Caprice in a boneyard and snag the carb, throttle brackets and such.
I've got the best metering rod/jet combo written down somewhere for a 305.

The hardest part for a "noob" is plopping the distributor back in.

·
Registered
508 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks you guys, I guess my first upgrade is going to have to be a 4bbl Carburator. And I`ve doing some research and it seems Quadrajet (is that Q-Jet?)are the way to go.

....but, this is my daily driven car, Do 4 bbl waste alot of fuel?

·
Registered
508 Posts
Discussion Starter #6