Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
371 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought a reproduction tail panel from crosscanada parts and dont have a clue where to start. I have done a 69 chev pick up so i have some body work experience and am not affraid to take a chance. So i was just wondering if someone could give a step by step or even just some pointers to get me going in the right direction that would be great.

PS. if it makes a difference the car is a 69

Thanks in advance

Pat

·
6,561 Posts
Looking at your new panel should give you some hints where it attaches to other sections of the car.

On my 74 the tail panel lips in and is spot welded to a bent in lip on the back end of the quarter panel. The factory used tongs on their spot welder and in the position they were at on my 74 I had no way to easily drill out the spot welds so what I did was cut out the rotten tail panel close to this bent in lip and then I was able to get in there with my die grinder and a cutoff wheel to thin the metal on the spot welds on the old panel I was removing until it broke loose.

I had more luck by finding spot welds using a wire wheel to remove any seam sealers and paint and looked for hints of a depression left by the factories spot welders tips.

I had to drill some spot welds out using a stepped unibit but I really like just thinning the metal on the panel I was replacing so that there were no addition holes in the panel that were staying intact on the car. I destroyed and removed the old panels I was replacing and made openings large enough in them to get the tools I needed in there.

I do remember doing some work getting the weatherstrip channel tweaked and this was with an NOS part and an aftermarket may take more or less work. Just fit it the best you can before you start welding it in.