Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Removed 194 engine and installed 230 engine. I have very little electrical experience so bear with me....:(

I fortunately have 2 novas, same motor. So I am replicating exactly the remove and replace process. After I installed the engine and connected the wiring I cannot get the engine to fire. I pulled the coil wire off the distributor and grounded it... nothing:eek: This is the troubleshooting I've done so far

Using my 67 as a model (it runs fine, same motor)
I am using a test light trying to find where the loss of current went so basically I connect the test light to pos or neg on battery and see if light turns on or not.

67 Nova
key OFF>
Neg side of battery to + or - on coil < no light >
Pos side of battery to + or - on coil < light comes on >
key ON>
Neg side of battery to + lo glow
Neg side of battery to - nothing
Pos side of battery to + low glow
Pos side of battery to - bright light

64 Nova
Neg side of battery to + or - <no light>
Pos side of battery to + or - < light comes on>
so far everything is the same as 67
no KEY ON
Neg side of battery to + or - bright light
Pos side of battery to + or - no light

I replaced the coil, no change... Any ideas ? I'll even make it interesting:D If you are right I'll paypal you $20.:eek:

·
Registered
20,109 Posts
Give test light a good ground and check for positive at coil + side for voltage with key in run position. Has to see voltage at + side of coil when key is on.

·
Registered
20,109 Posts
Also must have 12 vlts when the key is in the start position.
That would be the yellow wire coming off the starter and going to the coil + side, 12 volts when cranking. :yes:

·
Registered
2,161 Posts