Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
213 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So, I bought a '68 Chevy Nova, with a 383 SBC in it, off of a guy I worked with, I drove it about a half dozen times then blew the engine! lol come to find out the guy who put the engine together didn't know what the hell he was doing! Well I am new to classic cars and I learned that ignorance is expensive!

I am currently in Afghanistan with B-co 1-18IN 170IBCT, can't wait till I get a real answer on when the heck we are going to leave this place! My car is in Billings, MT being fixed up by my mechanic. currently I have replaced the stock radiator with a Griffin Dominator Series Radiator I am putting in a Flex-a-lite Black Magic Xtreme Series Electric Fans, I ordered a Proform Electric Water Pump to also help with the cooling. For the brakes I am converting from drum to disc with SSBC Disc Brakes.

I want to redo the exhaust system from the headers back, my current headers are chrome plated and I think that contributed to my overheating issue! Any one with a quite exhaust system that doesn't kill my hp/torque, please let me know what you did!

As far as the intake manifold and Carburetor I plan on putting in a Holley Street Dominator Intake Manifold. Carburetor, a Holley Ultra Street Avenger 670 cfm (I am sold on double pumpers!), but should I get the Holley Model 4150 Ultra Carburetors 750 cfm?

What I want to do with this car is something that will tear up the autobahn while still having a respectable time on a quarter mile.

I would be greatly appreciative of any suggestions or comments!

Thanks,
Michael

·
Registered
5,200 Posts
Welcome, glad to have you with us, Thanks for your service. Sorry to hear about your bad luck with your engine. Sounds like you have good plans for your nova. Good luck with it. Post some pictures when you can.

·
Registered
36 Posts