Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone a few weeks ago my wife's grandmother left us her 76 nova. I'm very new to the idea of restoring a classic car and my knowledge of cars is basic but I'm learning. After doing a little looking online I found out my new car is a medalist edition. After leaning that less then 5,500 were made my wife and I began to wonder if this car deserved to be in a collection rather than my first project car. One last piece of my issue is that our medalist is a 4 door and the only ones i can online are the 2 doors version. Any input would be very appreciated.

·
Registered
4,002 Posts
:waving:Welcome from Wisconsin! I'm not sure what you have, but somebody more knowledgeable will surely give us more details.

·
Registered
4,716 Posts
Hello and welcome to the site :waving: I think pictures of the Nova would help out a lot :yes: and in your case? It will make it easy to see what direction you should go.

Good luck and god bless with what you decide...

·
Registered
704 Posts
hey those are the ugly plaid seats mine had in it when i got it :D

looks like a great starting point for a build if you like more doors

if not

then it a awesome parts car or a drive it till it drops cars :yes:

·
Registered
2,175 Posts
Personally, I like the 4 Gens with 4 doors over the 2 doors. I'm not sure that being a medalist model will make it much more desirable, I would have fun with it.

Unless medalist meant a 427 was under the hood!

·
Registered
5,749 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Hi Takpe;

As per Nova Resouce page your car was build "To commemorate the Olympic games in 1976, Chevrolet created the "Gold Medalist" Nova (RPO-Z78). It included special gold paint (paint code 53) and "Gold Medalist" emblem"

I don't think there will be a bad idea to use it as your first project as long as you respect the color and keep the emblems as this are the trademark on your model.