Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1,274 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anybody know whats up with this setup? Also I am going to be running 2 fans. Im not good with electrical stuff and I am not sure how to go about wiring 2 fans up? I am thinking I should use a butt connector for the positive on the fan to the battery and a butt connector for the negative. Then I should use 2 of those wire tap connectors to connect the second fan to the positive and the negative? Then both fans will have power and ground correct? Each of my Spal 12" fans is rated to draw 7amps so 14 total. That should be safe with this controller?

Also Why would they have it wired like this? Does not make sense to me. I am not sure why they have the red wire on the controller itself hooked to the ground wire on the fan? I have never seen a fuse in a negative wire before. I can picture in my head how this works but it seems they could have done this an easier way.

I am open to any thoughts or suggestions. I need to get this hooked up tomorrow.

·
Premium Member
1,572 Posts
I don't blame you for being confused. I am confused also.

My 12" SPAL fans are rated to draw 16-22 amps EACH. 30 amp fuses for each fan recommended. Where did you get those magical low amp fans. Pull the spec sheet from the SPAL site and double check the amperage draw.

The fuse on the ground side is not usual. Normally you want to protect everything from the hot side down. I guess they are thinking the fans are insulated and no chance of shorting out against frame/metal, just internal melt down so the fuse would work anywhere. At least it protects their controller.

I don't believe a controller can run 2 SPAL fans without using additional individual 30 amp+ relays for each fan to handle the current load. Use the controller to run the control circuit for both relays, then it should survive. This is what is normally done when you have 2 fans to control.

·
Registered
566 Posts