Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Premium Member
11,208 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been racing seriously since 1975 and I have used alot of slicks over the years. But when I removed the tape over the weights on the RM Novas slicks I found over 16 oz of lead on one and 12 oz on the other. I have never used this make of slicks but plenty of others do. But I have never used that much lead to balance a slick. This car had Center Line rims but they are the same rims I bought new in 1988 and I ran lots of races with Firestone, Mickey Thompson and Hoosier slicks and never recall that much weight. Anyone else ever use this much lead on a 33X15 slick? I was just shocked to see this......LOL. I'm almost needing a calculator to add all the 1/4 oz squares.

·
14,584 Posts
I've never heard of that much to balance a tire. When I used to race full time it took maybe 8-12 little lead squares on each tire.

·
Registered
8,013 Posts
How odd?

Very!

I've balanced many tires over the years including those big 44 inchers on the popular mud trucks back in the late 70's and early 80's and never put a full pound on them.

You sure you're reading the numbers on the weights correctly Joe? :confused:

·
Banned
26,231 Posts
how many times are ya using the same hand to keep track of the weights?

that right there may be the issue...

here, lemme help ya :D

:rotfl:

·
Registered
211 Posts
I bought a new set of MT 275/60 drag radial pro's this summer. When I had them mounted no matter how they spun them on the rims 1 of them took 15 oz. I said lets roll with it and see what happens. They have been fine so far at 145 mph with no vibration at all.

·
Premium Member
11,208 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Here you go. I'll never run these but that is a big amount of lead. If I bought a tire new and it needed that much weight to balance, I'd send them back. I've never seen a slick need all that.

·
Registered
2,267 Posts