Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I will be firing up my Nova hopefully this weekend and have a question. I was told to let the engine run for about an hour and then change the oil and filter. I was told that after, I would need to let the engine break in before I can really get on the throttle. Anyone know how long I have to wait. :eek: It is my first build, and I don't want to mess anything up.

Also, I read that some people lift the rear and let the tires spin during the break in period. It is not the same if the car is just on?:confused:

·
Premium Member
10,210 Posts
MNYPIT said:
Hey guys, I will be firing up my Nova hopefully this weekend and have a question. I was told to let the engine run for about an hour and then change the oil and filter. I was told that after, I would need to let the engine break in before I can really get on the throttle. Anyone know how long I have to wait. :eek: It is my first build, and I don't want to mess anything up.

Well the intial start up is for 20-30 minutes(@ 2000-2500rpm) not an hour followed by an oil and filter change and then after that I would at least get a 150-200 miles on it and a second oil change before I would really get on it....JMO...I'm sure there will be many various perspectives on this

Of course you do see many motors that are rebuilt/broke in/and go right to the track with seemingly no ill effects

MNYPIT said:
Also, I read that some people lift the rear and let the tires spin during the break in period. It is not the same if the car is just on?:confused:
I've never heard of this so I really have no opinion on it.....but personally I would think this is not true....:confused:

·
Premium Member
11,208 Posts