Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey again, I bought this car with the heat (and AC) inoperable. Id like to get a working heater and defroster. Im no expert when it comes to heat/ac in cars.

My question is, what am I missing from the firewall that a 1969 Nova with heat would have? I don't need AC, although it is an "AC car.

I had someone look behind firewall (passenger feet area), and there is a heater core (he said put new one in for insurance). Guess I'm wondering what parts will I need to get heat?

Attachments

·
Vendor
1,762 Posts
The 1st picture of the fabricated cover on the firewall is covering the area where the A/C evaporator core box would have been. To the left (towards the fender) you will see the two heater core outlets. By the fact they are painted over and damaged, I would be skeptical of the claim a new core was installed. The cores are normally disconnected because they are leaking.

What you can do is hook up the core to the motor and see if it leaks. Common signs are obvious liquid on the box or floor, or a fogged up windshield in that area. If you can figure out a way to do it, you can also try to run a garden hose through it instead. It can get messy.

Next, the blower motor is missing. That is the hole in the firewall under the fender. Likely other things missing we cannot see.

If it were my car, I would pull the heater box to properly assess what you have and what has been damaged / modified. Thankfully a bunch of these parts are repoped and used is not hard to find. The Assembly Manual and Factory Service Manual will have rudimentary diagrams and info regarding the system.

Reactions: KingofThings

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Damn SB thanks for taking the time for that info.

Above i mentioned that there "is a heater core", but the guy suggested i install a new one for cheap insurance. No new core is there....thats about Lall I do know haha.