Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I just purchased a used engine on Qualityautoparts.com for my 1974 Chevy Nova. I received it today and I'm worried that they sent the wrong one. The mounts on the engine are almost twice as wide as the old ones... The old mounts which I took off the engine have the same hole schedule so they will fit; they are just alot smaller. And the fly wheel or flex plate (I'm a rookie I know) has 6 holes for connecting to the converter instead of 3 and the holes are situated at a much larger radius than the converter's mounts. Am I forgetting a part? I don't have my old engine anymore as the autoschool that was gonna rebuild it, (before learning that the block was beyond repair), well they scrapped it. Can anyone help me.... Did I get the wrong engine? Does anyone recognize the issue here? Again...the new flywheel or flex plate has 6 holes and they are quite a bit farther spaced apart. Thank you in advance. I know I'm a novice here so thankyou for your patience.

·
Registered
7,040 Posts
not uncommon for a flex plate to have 6 holes,turn converter until they match up.bigger mounts? ya lost me there.

·
Premium Member
1,725 Posts
Firstly, welcome to the site.

You may get more answers to your questions if you post in the drivetrain section. This section is kinda for oddball stuff.

As far as the mounts go, not sure exactly what you are questioning. Did the new engine come with mounts? Did you keep your old ones? Do the new ones not bolt up to your frame mounts? Pictures would be very helpful here.

As far as your flexplate goes, did you keep your old one? If not, I would get another flexplate that mates to your converter. Pictures of your question would also be helpful here