Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2,300 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright, I feel like a complete idiot for asking this question. But, I've never done this before and I'm having trouble. Seems it would be simple to mount and engine on a stand, but for me at least, not the case.

Can someone please post exact step-by-step instructions down to the last itty bitty detail?

I don't want to spoil the fun by telling the nature of the problem I'm having just yet because I don't want to shift focus away from the detailed instructions. After all, there may be other ignorant people out there like me that could use them.

After I see the details, I'll 'splain where my problem is.

·
Registered
155 Posts
Ok ... Ill give this a shot... assuming the engine is on the ground remove the trans (if you havent already) take the 4 fingered flange(mount) from the engine stand and attach it to the engine on the backside where you just removed the trans. then you and 4 of your closest friends (or just you and a cherry picker) place the large end of the engine mount into the engine stand.

·
Registered
235 Posts
The above pretty much covers it. Use the bellhousing bolt holes to mount the bracket too. Once its mounted, tighten up the bolts and try and get the center tube as close to center on the motor as possible. Tighten the arm bolts. Then, lift it up with your cherry picker, and place it in the stand.

·
Registered
2,300 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Ahh, so the head has to be removed from the stand first, attached to the engine, then you slide the head into the stand and snug up the bolts last? If so, then that must be my problem.