Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I posted this in a different forum a few days ago and didn't get any replies, maybe it will get more visibility here.

I have just purchased a 1970 2 door nova. For now I'm not going crazy, just want to get her road worthy. She just came back from paint, runs, has no windows, no interior, no lights wired up.

I've decided my first tasks are to order/install weatherstripping, gaskets, rubber bumpers and then scrape the old insulation off the inner roof.

This is my first restore and aside from a few basic repairs (glancing constantly at the Haynes manual) on my Ranger I have no automotive knowledge so I'm learning as I go. Please take the "explain it like I'm five" approach if you explain anything.

Here are my questions:
-Is Window felt necessary? Is the purpose to keep dust out of the door's interior?

-How is weatherstripping attached? I see pictures in some catalogs of a little plastic piece protruding from the weatherstripping. Others just show a roll of rubber striping. If adhesive is always used does anyone have recommendations on a brand/type?

-Is the Rear bumper to body seal necessary? Will the bumper hit the body without this seal?

-Are rubber stoppers the same as rubber bumpers (for door, hood, trunk, etc)? I'm seeing a mix of terminology in the catalogs.

-Eckler's is the cheapest on many of these items. Does anyone have experience with them?

-What is the best way to get the insulation off the inner roof without damaging the metal underneath or the paint job on the opposite side?

I have a Fisher Body Manual on its way. I'm debating buying a nova Haynes manual because reviews say it isn't very model specific.

Thanks so much for any advice.

-J

Attachments

·
Registered
1,372 Posts
Welcome to the Nova addiction!