Chevy Nova Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need advice on what 350 I should get for my 71 nova. I'm completely new to this so I don't know what years are good, which ones to avoid, what to look out for, how much I should expect to pay, etc.. I don't have a huge budget to buy it and build it up so everything counts

·
Registered
809 Posts
If you don't know what to look for, my advice would be to call a reputable engine shop and get their advice. Blueprint engines makes a very affordable "cruiser" crate 350 that is perfect for most people. 9:1 compression, aluminum heads, roller cam, and 1-piece rear main seal. The fact that is has a warranty with it should be strongly considered, too.

Crate 350's are available everywhere, and are usually cheaper than starting out with a questionable core and doing machine work with the current cost of labor, especially if you're not familiar with what works well for an engine build.

·
Registered
1,203 Posts
If you want a rock solid 350 with a warranty go with a GM crate engine.
A good start:
A little warmer:
Yee Hah!

I toyed with the thought of a Blueprint engine but after talking to them on the phone I left unimpressed. They would not give me very specific information on things such as the block, crank, rods etc and they were vague on purpose, much of their stuff is offshore manufactured.
I ended up going with a builder who gained my confidence, they were great to talk to, really cultivated a two way conversation and were just a pleasure to deal with, Nyes Racing out of Indiana.

·
Registered
44 Posts