Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all from Australia

Thanks for allowing me to join the forum, I've been doing a bit of research for my recently purchased 1972 Nova 2 door and this forum always pops up with the Info so figured I better join.

Im a novice car guy but I love most cars pre 1980, I've got a love of American muscle cars and X Body Novas would have to be my favorite Chev. I'm going to make a few changes to the old girl, so I'll be asking a heap of question regarding upgrading suspension etc.

My baby was created in Van Nuys CA in 1972. She was imported into Australia about 2012, and then received a repaint in Honda kiwi metalic green, had a 9" diff conversion, and engine was replaced with a 406ci With AFR Alloy heads, headers, TH350 w/2800 stall, running Strange 3.7 diff on 255/60/15s.

The block (400SBC) is from Tonawanda plant in NY and was made in 72. Ive been told she puts out about 420HP at the rears but I havent had it on a Dyno yet.

Shes setup more as a straight line car with 75mm clearance to the collectors but I'm about to change suspension and wheel/tires to make it into a tuff street / cruiser with that close to factory height look, on American racing rims with some nice tall rubber (BFgoodrich T/A radials or similar)
Thinking 215/65/15 front and 255/60/15 rear and maybe 3.5 diff gear to drop cruising RPMs a couple of hundred.

I look forward to chating and sharing my future upgrade photos with ya all.

Cheers
Bunyip(y)

·
Registered
4,653 Posts
WELCOME to SNS glad you joined in ……….. with your 72 2door .

from Northern Arizona , jim

·
Registered
2,738 Posts
welcome to steves nova site. from your description the nova sounds very nice. post a picture or two when you can. enjoy the cruise.

·
Registered
Mike - 74 Nova Baltimore, MD
1,493 Posts
Hello and welcome to the site! You have a great looking Nova that has some pretty decent upgrades already.