Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Heidts 4 Link in a '62 wagon problem >>UPDATE<<

just wondering if anyone else has had a fitment issue. 1962 wagon, and Heidts 4 link kit. upper crossmember is not even close on mine. crossmember is almost an inch too narrow at the front mounting location, and 1/4" at the rear.

just wondering if I got a goofy one, or if the coupe and wagon are that much different

·
Banned
26,231 Posts
call Heidt's or PM member "Ibuildm" Tim (he's a Heidt's distributor/dealer) and get the build dimensions of the crossmember... compare to what you were shipped...

also, our cars other than a convertible have the same rear frame rails (frame structure)... '62-'67 Coupe, Sedan & Wagon...

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I've talked with Heidts a couple times. According to them, the frame rails are different from the coupe to the wagon.

I'm no chassis expert or nova expert, so I don't know.

maybe I got a 'vert crossmember? :confused:

·
Banned
26,231 Posts
the frame rails might be a tad longer, but as far as i know the chassis are the same, except the Vert which has extra structure due to no roof...

the rear spring perches are different on a wagon...

·
Registered
86 Posts
I've talked with Heidts a couple times. According to them, the frame rails are different from the coupe to the wagon.

I'm no chassis expert or nova expert, so I don't know.

maybe I got a 'vert crossmember? :confused:

not true i took my heidts 4-link out of a 64 coupe and put it in a 63 wagon with no issues

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter #6 (Edited)
well, then this is pretty strange.

these are the same pics that I sent Heidts.

I have done a DSE mini tub, so never mind the outside of the rails. I need to modify that part of the u-channel anyway

·
Banned
26,231 Posts
well, it's not a factory frame rail... which is what Heidt's has designed the kit to fit, Right?