Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good morning all,
I been searching and reading and all I did was confuse myself further. Im looking for header size and brand opinions based on your experience. This is my first build.

This is what I have...

1972 4-door Nova. 28 inch tires, 3.73 gears with a Trutrac unit in a 10 bolt rear end. TH350 with an FTI 3600 stall on the tighter end with a #0 impeller and 086 stator. Fully built all forged 383 stroker with 6 inch rods, AFR 195 heads, 1.6 roller rockers, and a comp full retro roller xr282hr 282/288 adv 230/236 @50 550 lift total 110 lsa 106 lca. 2500-6000 power band with a pretty flat torque curve that peaks at 4000-4200. Mostly street driven with some weekend strip for fun but nothing crazy. Not a daily driver but will be driven as often as possible. Holley sniper TBI EFI.

I will be running the Pypes 2.5 inch SGF70 with the straight through transverse muffler all the way out the back with tail pipes.

Sorry for my long post, but after all my research I'm stuck between 1 5/8, 1 3/4, or 1 7/8 long tubes with absolutely no idea on what brand.

Thank in advance.

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I would like to add that these is something about the shape of AFR 195 heads exhaust port causes issues with 1 5/8 headers.

·
Registered
913 Posts
I would like to add that these is something about the shape of AFR 195 heads exhaust port causes issues with 1 5/8 headers.
My choice would be 1 3/4”. I ran 1 5/8” headers on my Afr 195’s. It worked but I was never happy with the sealing.

·
Registered
267 Posts
Good morning all,
I been searching and reading and all I did was confuse myself further. Im looking for header size and brand opinions based on your experience. This is my first build.

This is what I have...