Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
77' SS clone up for sale, looks real nice in photos. I'm told the car is clean and mint (full restoration done a few years ago) with a 350 crate motor recently installed. They're asking $9k.

Seems like a good deal, I'm going to head over there later this week to have a look. I'm new to Novas, and don't know much about them -- can anyone offer advice on what to look for when checking her out?

Thanks,
A.

·
Registered
1,572 Posts
Nova

The first thing you look for is it a 1972 or older, If your going to spend the money get one thats already going up in value. Goood Luck

·
Registered
582 Posts
Price sound fair... If the car is either a coupe or a hatchback, check the usual rust places, rear fenderwells, rear wheelwells, door bottoms, lower front fenders, under the rear quarter windows, inside in the rear corners of the rear fenders next to the taillights.

A common problem is serious rust or cracks in the lower radiator support bolt hole area, and in front fender skirts in same area. Repair is complicated and requires front end removal.

Also check for a good solid restoration or preservation of the plastic bumper filler pieces, these are hard to find.

Take a close look at the bumpers, if they have the deluxe impact strip it should be the original type, not a glued replacement. These are very hard to find.

Check for a level rear suspension, good glass trim work, doors not hanging down and closing properly, misaligned hood or trunk.

In hatchbacks, the floor under the spare has to be checked carefully, its usually rusted out to some degree. I have rarely ever seen one without rust work. Also check the underside of the hatch door, it should not be rusted out in the rear or under the shocks. Also outside under the lower rear window molding.