Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anybody ever heard of Probe pistons and Hasting rings? I found a pretty good deal on some forged Probed pistons and some Hastings rings. I was wondering if anyone has used them and if they are good or not cause I'm on a college budget. I'm planning on building a 355 for a street/strip car that will see maybe a 175 shot.

·
Registered
745 Posts
:yes:I have those rings on my little 350... havent fire it yet but i do have them ha..

·
Premium Member
13,309 Posts
you can not go wrong with Probe.. MADE IN THE USA from 2618 alloy... you could do far worse that to buy PROBE PISTONS.. as for Hastings.....I just snickered.... sorry....aaa.. yeah they are a fine product...

:poke::poke::poke: Henry Ford bought his first set of rings from them....thats all...:rotfl::rotfl::rotfl:

·
Registered
440 Posts
I used Hastings rings once......... and only once.
I have no experience with Probe.

·
Registered
3,895 Posts
I've got Probe pistons in my 406. Got a set for "V" and a set for a friend of his/ours. I put a set in a build for my little brudda that got beat on plenty!!:yes:

Mark make a damn good product!!!

As for Hastings?.....Lets just say a LOT of the other name brands still re-box a lot of rings.:yes: There's only a FEW places they are actually manufactured.

If you want a lesson on rings, give Barry R. a call over at Survival Motorsports.:D:yes:

·
Premium Member
11,072 Posts
I have some Probe pistons on the shelf for a future project--nice stuff. I know people that work there, and I know a few racers that run them; mostly F**D guys, but now they sell a lot of Chevy stuff. I got them because they are very light, but not as pricey as some others. As for Hastings stuff....they have been around a long time.

·
Registered
130 Posts
Discussion Starter #8