Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Well I've decided that my first ever car build would be a 76 nova. Now im looking for dedicated amount of help from a community as im not the savviest car person ever but I'm a fast learner. My plan is to put a nice engine (most likely a 350) a manual trans and other things. I have plenty of questions such as what motor will drop right in and if I wanted to put "x" motor what will need to happen, and how hard is it to convert an automatic to manual? how would I go about doing so? is there anywhere I can get replacement interior panels? etc.

Sorry for the complete lack of knowledge this is my first build after all :D
Thanks for any help in advance

Pics:

·
Registered
90 Posts
Looks like you have some work ahead of you but the car looks solid. Take your time and don't despair if things seem to take twice the time you excepted them to. And yeah buy quality tools even though they are a bit more expensive.

Good luck!

·
Registered
3,999 Posts
Hi and welcome to the site. This place is a great rallying point for info and tech stuff, especially for 4th gens.

Most SBCs will swap in, you just need specific 4th gen block-side motor mounts. The frame-side mounts work for both 6s and 8s. I suppose once you have a specific engine & trans combo in mind, it will make answering specific questions easier.

As far as converting to manual, the clutch pedals and linkage were specific to 4th gens. Occasionally you will find a setup on eBay. Just have to be patient.

Aside from seat covers, the only 4th gen specific interior items available are door panels (they come without the top metal part that you will have to switch from your old door panels), kick panels (which I think are the same as 3rd gens) and rear speaker shelf. Nobody makes the hard plastic stuff, so it's a matter of finding online via eBay or Craigslist.