Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Hey guys I currently daily my 4 door 72 however the sbc 350 in it right now have so many problems I do believe it has a blown head gasket in it. My plans with the car is to make it a great daily driver but also a awesome road trip car with the extra pony’s for fun. What type of setups are y’all running with y’all novas I want all the details from front to back. Also what size engines could possibly be great for the application I’m new to engine building and currently a broke college student who works on everything to keep the car running

·
Registered
470 Posts
If you want a daily and a cruiser I'd go with a 5.3 or 6.0 LS truck engine and a 4L60E tranny. Dependable and great mileage. You can go to lt1.com and rework the harness yourself. In most cases you can easily hook up cruise control. With the overdrive you ay have to address your rear gear.

·
Registered
1,057 Posts
Simplest swap is to build a mild 383. The longer stroke will help with torque to get it moving and cruise easily.

·
Registered
163 Posts
You can rebuild your 350. They're a classic, budget friendly and you already have one!

Any good, corrosion free 5.3 from a junkyard would work great too. More power than a typical 350 build, better mileage, and of course being an LS the options are limitless. The cheap-o cammed 5.3 in my 68 Nova is a blast to drive and decently quick.

·
Registered
470 Posts
For my build I bought a complete 2001 Denali that had rusted out. That way I got the engine, tranny, harness, TAC module and peddle assembly that was all matched and I knew would work together. I reworked the harness according to the site I listed and sent him my ECM for some slight tuning and to get the vats and other unnecessary stuff deleted. Cranked first try on the engine stand. I did upgrade to an LS6 intake, 799 heads, injectors and a stout cam but that's just me. A stock 6.0 is pretty strong in alight car as is.

·
Registered
900 Posts