Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there, I have a 69' Nova I put a 327 into out of a 66 Caprice a while back, I've been dailying the car for a few months now, today I left work at 3, went to a friends, got in my car about 4:30 to go get some food and it won't start now, I've done some work since but now I'm stumped, I've converted from points to HEI, i replaced the rotor as well as the ignition module underneath the rotor, no way the dist spun on me to mess up timing it's tightened down tight, all plugs are on the right plugs wire, the carb is pumping fuel down the intake, I'm at a loss, I've been taught cars run on fuel (check), spark (check), and compression (which not a blown head gasket nor thrown timing chain, no water in oil and that's something I would have heard I feel) so any help is appreciated,
Garrett

·
Registered
175 Posts
What is battery voltage? Is the car trying to fire while cranking then dies? Or does the car try not to run at all?

·
Registered
188 Posts
I've done some work since
Since when. Since it hasn't started or since you put in the motor. Where did you check spark at? Are you 100% sure you have fuel? Looked down the carb to make sure fuel is squirting in, checked a plug to see if it's wet. I always start with the basics. Been tripped up by a fuel gauge that went bad on me while driving. Gauge kept slowly rising as my tank was slowly draining.:confused:

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Hey everybody thanks for the replies, yes the rotor is spinning under the cap, I tested spark off of the number 1 wire, kept getting the constant blue spark, I flicked the throttle on the carb and saw the injectors squirt the gas, I could try pulling the plugs to see if their getting gas but where else would the gas be going if it's going down the cab and not leaking out anywhere, as far as battery voltage I'm not 100% sure but the car will crank and crank and crank but just won't fire now

·