Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking for the best street/strip combo for my newly accquired 73. I'm new to this and about all I know is that it all has to work well together. As far as the car being on the street, it only be around town. No long highway trips. I can get my hands on a 454 cheap but, I'm not sure if it's the best for what I want. Can you guys point me in the right direction? Be thourough please as this is my first project. Thanks...Greg

·
Premium Member
1,924 Posts
"Best" is too broad.

What do you want to do with the car?

You can have an awful lot of fun on your way to having the "best". of anything.

If you hold off on everything on your way to having the "Best", other things have a tendency to get in the way and you might never get there.

Best at what?

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I want lots of torque. I want that "eyeballs in the back of my head feeling" when It launches off the line. But still be able to drive in town. So I guess I want more strip than street.

·
Registered
1974 chevy. Ova
1,179 Posts
good luck getting traction on the street, but decent 454 will give you more torque than you'll ever use. some have had problems putting a bbc in a 73/74 since they were never factory equipped, so if you'd like to avoid the hassle a 350 or 383 can accomplish the same. with a sbc i'd look at a 180cc head, hydraulic roller cam, performer rpm air gap, and a 650 or 750 holley to accomplish a good torquey motor. you'll have to decide how fast you want to spin it but i think 6k rpm is where i'd aim for a max rpm with a street motor. as far as drivability in town, i'd think a 3.73 or 4.10 gear would be what i'd choose, deeper if you like it slow and loud :devil:

·
Premium Member
368 Posts