Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
251 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, this is probably second nature to most of you, but I have a smple gauge wiring question on my '62. It's my first time putting aftermarket gauges in and I'm trying to keep it simple. I have an electric temp sender gauge, Autometer brand, that I'm wiring up. I have the sender wire hooked up to the S terminal so far. I need to find a place to hook the gauge up to a "switched" 12v ignition source. I really don't want to splice into wiring if I don't have to. What is the best, simplest, safest place in the factory wiring to hook it up to? I noticed the fuse block has some spade style connectors- I included some photos. Is that a good spot? Or? Also, for grounding it, the instructions say the engine block. Can I just run a wire screwed into the dash frame somewhere? Thanks for your help.

·
Registered
654 Posts
You can use the ACC terminal on your fuse block as longs as it is a 12v switched terminal. You can test it with a volt meter or test light. It should have 12v when the ignition switch is in the 'on' position and 0v when ignition is 'off' position.

Note: you will want to put an inline fuse on that wire coming off the ACC terminal off the fuse block.

As far as the ground wire goes it is not totally necessary to go right to the engine block. Look under the dash there will be factory ground wires attached to the dash or other metal points. You can crimp a ring terminal and attach it to one of those points.

Hope this helps :yes:

Good Luck with it:D

·
Registered
251 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the response. I know it's pretty low voltage, but what's a good amp rating for the fuse to use?

·
Registered
654 Posts
Thanks for the response. I know it's pretty low voltage, but what's a good amp rating for the fuse to use?