Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So I'm a newbie so I'm sorry if this is some beginner stuff, but I'm trying to figure out my best fuel supply route. I got a new stainless fuel tank with stainless front to back line. My fuel pump which is an edlebrock generic that i got from orielys
was in the engine compartment. Which I now learned should be under the car at the other end of the fuel line so that it is pushing the fuel rather that pulling. Well, there was a fire because a clamp came loose so now i need a new fuel pump.
Should i keep the electric pump and run the wire from the switch to the back of the car and mount the pump directly next to the tank? Or should I swap to a mechanical pump? and if mechanical do i need a return line?
Also need some advice on the best materials to get from the fuel line into the carb. It came with a hard line but it didn't seem like there would be a good way to do that. Maybe that braided steel fuel hose with better clamps than a cheap hose clamp?

The engine is a 350 with an edlebrock carb. and this is just a Sunday driver. With hopes in the future of upgrading to something more road trip built, but thst will most likely include swapping engines.
any advice is appreicated.
Thanks

·
Registered
1963 Nova coupe, Phoenix Arizona
2,045 Posts
I agree, nothing wrong with a mechanical one . I like the push lock fittings, not a big fan of the steal braided, hard to tell if the line is going bad. They make fittings to go from hard line to AN, mine have been on for 10 years with no issues on my LS.

Earl's Performance Tube Adapter Fittings AT165006ERL

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
thank you all for the input. with the mechanical pump will I need a return line to the tank? and that just hooks up to where the evap tube is now?
this pump says one inlet and one outlet but looks like it has three fittings in the photo.