Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
869 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My 383 engine build came to an end last summer and I finally got a chance to take the car around the block today. It liked backfiring through the carb every once and a while, it was running a tad hot and the carb was smoking after a shut it off for a while.

Here's the specs:
Eagle 383 Kit, 30 over block
Patriot Aluminum Heads
Crane Saturday night special cam

Is there any way I can retune my Edelbrock carb to work with this engine? I'm not looking for max power right now just better driveability. It's not the easiest engine to start and it doesn't like idling very low.

I'm assuming it will help if I change the fuel mixture screw? I wanted to ask before making changes. I have never done carb work before. Any tips here?

·
Registered
3,308 Posts
Before you do anything, you need to verify your timing. You have a major issue of backfiring thru the carb and that would be the 1st place I would start.

After the timing issue, what kind of cam do you have? What is the vaccum specs of it? I am researching the answer you are looking for on Edelbrocks web site. Have you checked there ?

Dan

·
Registered
1,274 Posts
IMO 650 is to small for a healthy 383. Which saturday night special do you have? I run a 1050 dominator on my brodix headed, 13:1 compression, saturday night special cammed 383.

·
Premium Member
11,072 Posts
It's pretty well known how I feel about those carbs--that would be a good place to start getting rid of problems. But if the car isn't mobile, why bother messing with it now?

·
Registered
869 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
I'm a broke college student who affords the hobby simply because he lives at home and doesn't pay rent.