Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Picked some tubular control arms off ebay for about $270. I also have a set of qa1 coilovers to go with my set up. Now im trying to put everything together and im a bit confused about how everything is supposed to line up. The control arms seem like they are supposed to line up in a different location and the angle is weird. Im new to this so maybe i dont know any better. Could someone tell if this is right? The coilover dont line up as well

Control arms

20200510_153027.jpg
20200510_153037.jpg
20200510_154259.jpg
20200510_154616.jpg

·
Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Ok after reading over the ebay listing i found some conflicting info. They state that the arms fit any A body. But i was under the impression that the novas are x body. I sent the seller a message and u hope to get this resolved asap
Screenshot_20200510-161714_Chrome.jpg

·
Registered
Mike - 74 Nova Baltimore, MD
1,482 Posts
A-Body ebay tubular control arms usually have a gold colored cross shaft with no inserts.

Your control arms look correct for an X-Body (3rd Gen Nova), but it looks like you have the lower tubular control arm installed on the wrong side of the car... lower arm in your photos should be on the drivers side. IIRC, the red bumper on the lower control arms should be closer to the front of the car... under the sway bar (yours is closer to the back of the car). Below are a couple images of the correct installation.

Your upper control arm looks like it is installed on the correct side of the car.

P.S.... If not done already, it is also highly recommended that you replace the ball joints that come with the ebay control arms with high quality replacement ball joints. There are several post throughout many car forums that discuss the inferior quality of the ball joints that come installed on the ebay tubular control arms.

·
Registered
152 Posts
Discussion Starter #4