Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just installed a black magic electric fan (Draws about 15-20A) and I had to upgrade my alternator. I got a powermaster 100A alternator. It puts out 75A at idle. My voltage readings are 14.2V when car is idling no headlights or electric fan. When the fan kicks in it drops to 13.4V. I need to add a vacuum pump because I have a very radical cam and need more vacuum to my brake booster. I am afraid I my not have enough to power it. It draws 10A initially to get pump going and shuts off once brake booster is full. (Can take 1-2 mins) I am running a brand new optima 34/78 1000cca battery, which I fully charged with a ctek 7002 AGM Multiphase battery charger, so I know everything is fully up to snuff.

Power Master makes a 140A alternator but it only puts out 10 extra Amps at idle and I would have to upgrade my wiring.

Can someone give me some guidance on what I should do?

·
Premium Member
4,365 Posts
Where are you measuring your voltage at and what gauge wiring are you runing? Also, what guage charge wire are you running? 75 Amp should be enough. Also, what size crank and alt pulleys do you have? you may not be driving it fast enough. I'd look for other causes first.

·
Premium Member
4,365 Posts
Where are you measuring your voltage at and what gauge wiring are you runing?

Measuring voltage at the autometer gauge. I think wire thickness is 10 gauge.

Also, what size crank and alt pulleys do you have?

Its a standard 3:1 pully.
Where is the guage connected? If you have a 100A altenator, an 8 gauge charge wire to your distribution block should be used. For really long runs, you should have a 6 guage. Undersized wiring will cause a voltage drop.

You need to measure your voltage at the altenator, then at the battery to see how much voltages are really dropping between the alt, battery and guage. Also, are you running a 1 wire altenator?