Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Premium Member
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking to go from drum brakes to disk brakes on my 65 Wagon...Does anyone recommend any brand in particular (CBR, CPP, ChevyII)?

Wagon currently sitting on 14" Rally Wheels on all four corners, I'm not a mechanic by any means but can tackle some jobs that need to be done. So a complete bolt on kit would be helpful for installation purposes. I plan on keeping the rallys for a while, but I do have a set up of 14" Drag Lite wheels if need to change wheel set up on low profile tires.

Any insight on set up (brand/price, etc) and installation would be great...Used would be good too for some $$$ savinigs!!

·
Registered
2,746 Posts
many oprions out there.

1. you can have your 5 lug spindle machined to except 3rd gen or chevelle disk.
2. CPP kit.
3. Right stuff brakes.
and many more. what are your plans for the wagon?

·
Premium Member
20,542 Posts
all three options you listed are gonna push out the wheels 5/8-3/4 of an inch per side.......they are all based off chevelle disc brakes......cpp offers a zero offset disc brake kit.....these will only work with yw or xb 14" disc brake rally wheels...they will all work with 15" wheels

·
Registered
26,336 Posts
TELL US YOUR FULL JOURNEY, WHAT DO YOU WANT TO DO!
WHAT SIZE WHEELS YA WANT!
WHAT SIZE BRAKES YA WANT!
????????????
:cool:

·
Vendor
7,085 Posts
If you want to retain your existing wheels the CPP zero offset 10.75 is probably your best choice(I would change the pads)If you have any interest in larger diameter wheel the next choice would be the LS1 12.0 inch brakes.

·
Registered
178 Posts
I was told by a guy at (POL) Parts Online. That the chevelle kit is basically what came on the 67 nova from the (factory). With disc brakes. He also said that the rotors for the Chevelle kit is the exact same ones that came on a 66-67 nova.And a lot of other cars.