Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all.

So I am trying to get a set of Detroit Speed minitubs installed on my 72 Nova. The shop that I am currently looking at is saying $5k to install!! Mind you I already purchased the tubs, that's just labor.

I called another shop and they are unwilling to give me an estimate because of some unknown factors that might pop up in the process. Which I totally understand.

Can any of you guys that have had them installed please help me out and at least give me a ball park figure of what to expect?? I need to get some paint too and can't afford to spend 5k on just the install of these tubs.

Thanks!

·
Premium Member
1,475 Posts
I did my own and it took around 30 hours. I have never done a set before and it was quite easy.

5K seems a bit steep to me.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I did my own and it took around 30 hours. I have never done a set before and it was quite easy.

5K seems a bit steep to me.
Yeah even at $100 an hour for labor that still puts it at 3k! 30 hours is pretty much what I figured for this kind of job. Thanks for the input!

·
Premium Member
1,475 Posts
I imagine someone who does this for a crust could knock 10+ hours off the job ;)

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Wow, 5K seems like a lot to me, I was looking at getting a set installed in the 71 but now :confused:
This might make you feel better. I called that guy Dale - super nice guy and helpful btw. The first thing you have to understand is most places wont give you an "estimate". Especially with our older cars. You just never know what could happen or what to expect when you start tearing one apart.