Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
407 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
In my 355 I have the Zoom performance clutch, they had three levels and its the higher of the three. I have no prior knowledge with working on clutches and I did not install this one but the guy who did seemed to have done a good job with everything else. Anyway, I have driven many cars with clutches tho, none of them being anything other than stock, and right away I noticed that it didn't disengage or engage until it was almost completely out of travel... umm soon as my foot touches the pedal and just maybe a half inch of movement, but with no slack, would be all it took to engage the clutch. I hope you can understand what i'm saying.

Anyway, after installing the new sway bars I took her for a ride and romped on it a lil. Everything worked good so I parked her. today I made a run into town and when on the highway I went to pass a car and felt it rev up without any acceleration.. It then felt like it just wasn't disengaging all the way when i let off the pedal. and there is no play with the pedal at all. if anyone can understand what i'm trying to describe could you please inform me whether or not I can just adjust the rod that goes to the clutch fork or if theres anything I can do to maybe get her working better at least till I can afford to fix her right. It doesn't smell all burnt up although I did smell a lil oil smell when it was doing it. I think its just right on the edge of being engaged or disengaged and needs to be adjusted to allow more pedal travel, maybe so the clutch fork will back off the throwout bearing a lil more or whatever. i kinda understand the whole process but am looking for a lil confidence. Thanks for trying to decipher through my nonsense. I appreciate it!:confused:

·
Registered
20,121 Posts