Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so I am stumped and I hate asking for help.

Overview: Car shuts off after running for about a minute. If I crank the engine over it won't start again but it will turn over. If I completely turn off the car and switch off the ignition system, then turn it back and crank it over the car will fire right up and run for another minute or two before shutting off.

Detailed:

My car has an accel HEI distributor pn 59107C that I have been using for at least 3 years. Driving home one day my car shut off and I thought it was out of gas. I found out the car would not turn back on unless the key was switched completely off and then back to the on position.

At first I replaced the fuel pump (Seperate issue leaking gas)

Then I checked the ignition wire going to the HEI. 12v not running and a whopping 16v at idle on one multimeter, and 15.5v idle on another multimeter. It seemed to be getting consistent power. So I assumed it was something in the distributor. Replaced the coil with the accel HEI super coil pn 110-140005. Did the exact same thing.

Contacted Accel/MSD tech support for my alternator. Tech suggested since I was seeing high voltages to check my alternator. Took my alternator to get it tested. Failed (it's 50 years old). Bought and installed a new alternator. Same problem.

Finally figured I needed a Ignition module. Bought the literal cheapest ignition module from autozone for 22$. Dropped it in. Car fires right up and runs great!!! So I drove the car for a few weeks, and my ignition system was quickly deteriorating. To the point where I couldn't step on the gas or there would be multiple backfires and popping noises. Some headers were cold while others were hot. My car was getting 4.2mpg. It wasn't working correctly. I figured this was because I bought the cheapest module I could find.