Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
5,352 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a billet tranny pan that I believe is set up for a temp gage for the tranny. If I choose not to run a temp gage , what can be used to simply stop up this hole. I can't seem to find any pipe or other threads to fit.

·
Premium Member
5,352 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Sorry. I'm not that psychic. Use a thread pitch gauge.

http://www.malonespecialtyinc.com/tech.htm
Paul,
I am a tool & die maker of some 40 odd years. It's not like your talking to a novice here. I have great respect for your knowledge and the help you provide here. BUT! I feel that sarcasm was uncalled for. A thread pitch gauge is about useless when your trying to check an inside thread on a .200 inch thick pan. How many threads do you thing are in there. I was trying to find out if it is a tapered pipe or something other with a flange. I have access to many things the average person doesn't. Have not found any thing to fit correctly yet. Thank you so much.

·
Premium Member
8,405 Posts
How is that sarcastic? You tell us we have an unknown billet pan and we are supposed to "know" what thread it has? The fact that you are a machinist makes this all the more perplexing. How about trying some taps in the hole?
Maybe it's metric, maybe it's straight thread. If it's that small maybe it's 1/8" NPT for a thermocouple but that's too thin for pipe thread. It should have a welded boss if it's going to take a tapered thread. You'll have to continue to check, because all we can do is guess.

You could always call the manufacturer and ask them what they thread that hole for. I guess that could sound sarcastic also.

·
Premium Member
15,966 Posts
The temp adapter is a fitting that accepts the mercury tube for manual type temp gauges.

The female part of the adapter in 99% of the time is a AN fitting -6

·
Premium Member
5,352 Posts
Discussion Starter #8