Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Swapped from a 350 to 454, but now I'm battling overheating. On the big block I am running the Chevy serpentine kit with reverse long water pump. The pump is brand new, so is the engine. It's a GM crate 454.

I have a 180 degree thermostat and an aluminum radiator with a core that's approximately 2" thick by 20" wide. Running two 10" 1000 cfm fans that are pulling the right direction. I have a condenser and trans cooler in front of the radiator but ac is not plumbed up yet.

Car will overheat on a 70 degree day quickly. I watch the Temps Creep past 225 and won't stop. The only way to keep it cool is to jump on the hiway. But at 80mph it still climbs to 195 degrees, where it finally stabilizes.

Thoughts? At first I thought the fans were insufficient, but then at 80mph I would expect much better results even with no fan. I also don't have the inner fenders installed right now, but I wouldn't expect a huge difference from that.

·
Registered
271 Posts
I noticed in the build thread that you don't have a shroud on the radiatior. You need a shroud that encloses the fans and covers the entire core of the radiator to pull air over the core.
This explains why the temp stabilizes at 80 mph.

·
Registered
94 Posts
Check your plugs and make sure it's not running lean. Also check your timing. Make sure you have a spring in your bottom radiator hose. It could be collapsing.

·
Registered
4,086 Posts
What is your timing set at? Are you running vacuum advance?

If you don't have a fan shroud definitely get one of those on there, that will help at idle and low speeds.

Might be better off with a GM 7 blade fan and HD clutch on there. That always worked well for the OEM setups years ago.

·
Registered
346 Posts