Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 64 nova that needs paint. There is some surface rust that may need some body filler but nothing major. I want to get it fixed and painted so it doesn't get any worse. I am currently away from home attending school so I don't have a garage or a sprayer to work with. Being a poor student, I am considering going to earl scheib. I figure it should last a couple years till I get out of school and have the time to do it right.

Anyone advise against going to E. Scheib for a temporary (2-3 year) fix?

·
Premium Member
5,820 Posts
No, as long as you know what you're getting, I don't see why not. On the other hand, it might be good to compare them with the local Maaco. All the franchises can vary widely in the quality of their work. Check out a couple of places, and go with the one you feel comfortable with. Also, pull every single thing off the car that you can.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Earls Paint

I Remember When You Could Get A "cheap $100.00 Paint Job Back In The 1960's. The Truth @ Paint Jobs All Start W/ The Basics, "prep, Prep, And More Prep".
I Am Sure If You Float The Body Shop A Few Extra $$$ They Will Spend More Time "prepping" Your Ride. Body Work Is Where They Used To Really Get You. If You Are Looking For Something To Just Get You By It Would Be Ok...
You May Want To Consider Media Blasting W/ An Epoxy Primer. You May Be Giving Yourself A Bigger Headache In The Future As To Be Removing All The Paint That E.s. Puts On The Car.

·
Registered
3,999 Posts
Greg_R_63 said:
No, as long as you know what you're getting, I don't see why not. On the other hand, it might be good to compare them with the local Maaco. All the franchises can vary widely in the quality of their work. Check out a couple of places, and go with the one you feel comfortable with. Also, pull every single thing off the car that you can.