Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,045 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well........Almost.....besides a few little things that need to be done...like...Power steering pump....Alternator...Throttle linkage..Upper radiator hose .What other details must I do before I crank it over for the first time.???....Please...I want this thing to run . Any thoughts ????? This is my first build...so I'm scared to death something might be overlooked...Thanks ..And Thanks again for all the help I recieved in the last few months......Randy...

By rroxon7, shot with FinePix J10 at 2009-05-07

·
Premium Member
1,111 Posts
I would invest in a radiator shroud to make sure that beast stays cool, my 66 ran hot in slow traffic before I got the shroud, noproblems after, its lookin good!

·
Premium Member
3,361 Posts
Start it with straight water without antifreeze. Once you get to looking into the fan shroud take a look at a good cross flow aluminum radiator also.

........Good Luck:yes:
I run the same radiator in mine with a 383- I dont know how it stays cool but it does!:yes:

·
Registered
1,048 Posts
One thing I would check at least twice before you turn the key is oils, water/coolant, and tranny fluid. I don't know how many times I've heard this story. I was sooo excited to start it I forgot that I hadn't put tranny fluid in or engine oil etc.

Motor looks real nice.:thumbsup:

·
Premium Member
3,361 Posts
You should consider converting to disc brakes up front.:yes:

·
Registered
544 Posts