Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
733 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright guys I am still in the planning stages but feel I am getting somewhere.

I would like to have my motor in the car and able to just start.Not drive or anything.Just fire up.I have been working on car for close to 3 years and have thousands of dollars in it.And being able to start it would be sweet.

I am going to be using a stock gen 5 454 at first.I am going to converting it from TBI to carb and from serpentine to a old style short water pump with the v belt setup....(the car has no power steering or a/c so I don't need that stuff.Plus the blower needs the short water pump setup)

Will the engine cool still cool alright if the water is flowin the opposite direction?

Another thing is the tranny.It will have a torque convertor filled with fluid in it.Will I need to install a plug in the tailshaft and fill the trans with fluid or will it be alright leaving it empty?

I am planning on running my fuel line along the frame rail and coming up right behind the engine and coming into the carb from the firewall side.(holley blue mounted in the rear of car)I know you cannot attach the fuel line to firewall.So how are you guys doing this.Basicly I am trying to keep the engine compartment uncluttered.Planning on installing the fuel pressure regulator underneath the car mounted on the subframe connector.Does this sound like it will work?

Another thing is I am going to be using an old mallory dizzy.It is the small cap type.And it has two wires coming out of it.I got it with the super charger setup and have no instructions.One wire is black and one red.I am assuming just a simple ground and positive 12 volt are all I need.Or will have to hook up the msd box to it?