Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4,086 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My heater core finally crapped out on me. Didn't pour water on the carpet but was shooting steam out the defroster vents when I turned the heat on, so that's not good haha! I bypassed it for now by looping the hose with a 5/8" to 3/4" fitting, but would like to replace it soon.

I've never done one before, so I have no clue what to expect. Looks like there are 5 or 6 bolts or nuts holding the case in to the firewall case, and then somehow it's clipped into the case? I found some pics online but no good videos or anything.

Can you change it without taking apart the dash or removing the inner fenderwell? Not sure how difficult of a job it would be, just wanted to get some input so I know what to expect.

Thanks!

·
Registered
2,697 Posts
i was going to tell how i did my 66 years ago but then i see your talking a 72. so i'm in the dark like you. but one tip to make it easier, remove the pass. side bucket to make it so much easier on the back. an i did have to remove the glove box liner to get to some of the hardware.

·
Registered
Mike - 74 Nova Baltimore, MD
1,467 Posts
Did your 72 Nova have factory AC?... or originally a Non-AC car?

EDIT: Disregard question above. I looked at your garage and see you have a non-AC Nova.

·
Registered
1,467 Posts
I replaced the heater core in my 74 Nova several years ago.
You do not need to remove the outer heater core cover that is attached to the engine side of the fire wall to replace the heater core... but you do need to remove the 5 speed nuts (2 top side of heater core cover and 3 bottom side of heater core cover) that are attached to the bolts that come thru the firewall cover. These bolts hold the inner heater core box to the car's interior firewall. The speed nut that is located on the bottom side of the cover (behind the inner wheel well) is a little difficult to get to... but you do not need to remove the wheel well or the fender.