Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am about to put in a new transmission and am calling on the wisdom of the forum!

For my 62 sedan, does the overdrive make a difference in fuel economy? Is the 350 adequate? What are some of the pros and cons this rookie should first consider that I haven't mentioned?:confused:

Thanks!

·
Premium Member
1967 Chevy II nova Hardtop
3,916 Posts
200r4 is a good choice too with the benifit of no drieshaft modification. OD is a very worthwhile choice unless you know that gas prices are going down and staying there.
Even if gas was $.50 I would still choose an overdrive. I can't stand the drone of an over revving engine.:no:

·
Registered
531 Posts
I am confused. As I said I am still a newbie at this however I have learned lots of things here and also working at my garage.
Basically the Th350 does not have overdrive instead it is just a kickdown cable to downshift and then pick up again correct?
The 200R4 has three gears as well but it does employs an overdrive option how?
Detent wire of manually shifting to overdrive.
I am asking because I have a friend that has a fully rebuilt 200R4 for 200 bucks but based on many peoples suggestions I keep thinking that TH350 is the best out there.
Reality is ?

·
Registered
2,990 Posts
best out there?

I am confused. As I said I am still a newbie at this however I have learned lots of things here and also working at my garage.
Basically the Th350 does not have overdrive instead it is just a kickdown cable to downshift and then pick up again correct?
I am asking because I have a friend that has a fully rebuilt 200R4 for 200 bucks but based on many peoples suggestions I keep thinking that TH350 is the best out there.
Reality is ?