Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
sup everyone im new to muscle cars and i got a 69 nova V6 and i did search but still get the right answer!!
so my question is if the V8 is a easy swap cuzz my friend has a 72 nova and he said that my car need to be cut on the engine chasis it's that truth or the V8 swap it's just a bolt on swap??
thanks for the help!!

·
Registered
1,137 Posts
Are you sure you have a V6 or do you have a straight six? Generally speaking a straight six to SBC V8 is a bolt deal. Their are some things that need/should also be replaced during the swap, but it all should be nuts and bolts with no cutting or major fabrication. I have to say no major fabrication becouse it seems like when you start working on these cars their is always something that has to be tweeked or just barely modified to make it all fit together.

·
Registered
3,484 Posts
chevynova69 said:
sup everyone im new to muscle cars and i got a 69 nova V6 and i did search but still get the right answer!!
so my question is if the V8 is a easy swap cuzz my friend has a 72 nova and he said that my car need to be cut on the engine chasis it's that truth or the V8 swap it's just a bolt on swap??
thanks for the help!!
Your friend is misinformed. You can swap in a big block v8 easy as pie. :D no cutting required. That's why i love chevys! :cool:

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
^
man iam so glad to hear that!!
cuzz i really like my nova!! anyway guys i was thinking go with the corvertte swap how much would cost me to do that $$ or can u tell me what a good and cheap swap will be??
i just want to run like 12's on the track and having it for cruise as well any comments are welcome!!
thanks!!

·
Premium Member
31,194 Posts
Cost will depend on the parts new verses used the swap less engine sould be about $500 or less with used parts rad,mounts & exhaust all pre 81 chev trannies bolt up to 6 cyl. all the way up to Big blocks.

·