Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. My name's Ryan and I just bought a '69 Nova SS Clone. The owner didn't do much of the work himself, and didn't have a whole lot to tell me about the car. I've had it for about 2 weeks now and absolutely love it. I looked at the VIN, and found out a little bit about the car. Basically, the VIN tells me it was an L6. I'm still a beginner when it comes to working on cars (I've helped my dad a little bit here and there), but I'd like to know what kind of extras that model came with. I'm assuming that's the V6 model. The only thing to owner has told me is that he has a 350 c.i. bored .030. He also has a 2-Speed Powerglide, with a Hurst Pro-Matic Floor Shifter put in. He tells me it has a Holley 4-Barrel Carburetor, but didn't give me the specifics on it. I don't think the car came with A/C, but, like I said, I'm a newbie at this so I wouldn't even know what to look for (the heat panel with the arms to control the temperature has a "cool" option, if that helps). I haven't gotten under the car to look at the exact exhaust it has, but I know it's aftermarket. Also, there are some headers put on there. Here are some of my questions about the car, and if anyone could help, that would be awesome!

1.) Did the car come with A/C from the factory?

2.) How can I tell the specifics on the carburetor?

3.) I hate the Powerglide transmission. It simply does not give me enough power off the line. What other transmissions can I drop in to fix this problem, and what does that usually cost if I take it to a mechanic to rebuild and drop in?

4.) Assuming I drop in a new transmission, what do Powerglides in good condition usually go for on Craigslist or eBay?

5.) The windows seem to be leaking a bit around the edges. What can I do to fix this (any links to seals I might have to buy would be helpful)? Or would I be better off letting a glass place do the work?