Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been sitting on my roof sag issue for a couple years now. Finally thinking about fixing it. Anyone with advice?

It's got serious oil canning all across. It looks like someone stored bails of hay on top of this hardtop for a couple decades.

No rust, no issues...
Just can't install a headliner till this gets fixed - which makes whole car a hobo-car. I want to begin hammer and dolly-ing it out, or better yet learn along with someone who knows how.
But when that gets done I want supports welded in place for real strength so it's never an issue again. Can I weld the existing supports on the inside up to the top of the sheet metal? Or should I get extra braces welded in place on the inside? What's the process/solution here?

Don't think I have any photos of it, but here's the car on my Instagram: 66jova

Thanks.
-Joe

·
Registered
1,012 Posts
Depending on how bad of shape it's in you might consider replacing the whole top. Call Real Deal Steel in Sanford Florida. They are building complete bodies for 66 or 67 Nova and I'm sure they would sell you a new roof.

·
Premium Member
72, 2 Dr, 383, 700r4
1,332 Posts
My '72 had the same problem, looked like some kids walked on top of it while it was sitting in a field. I only fixed mine about 3 months ago. It oil canned in the center and there were visible raised creases around the edges of the roof caused by the roof being pushed down in the center.