Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi.
I'm new to the whole rebuild/restore scene. My son got me into it. I recently purchaced a 64 Nova and its in rellay good running condition. My plan is to repalce the straight-6 powertrain with a LS1 egine and a T-56 tranny. I also know I'll have to (want to) replace / expand the rear-end and tubs the wheel wells. as well as upgrade the suspension and braking systems. I welcome any help and/or advice that maybe out there. I want to start with the rear-end tubs, any step-by-step advice or thread links you can provide would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance for your help.

·
Registered
1,211 Posts
Welcome to SNS, home of any and all things Nova. Warning upfront: These little cars are addictive. I would recommend you spend some time searching the site using the search engine for topics like "tub"; "LS1"; "LSx"; "brakes"; "steering'. You get picture. There is a ton of advice and how to's already written down just waiting for you to discover.

Its strictly your build and sequence, but most people new to 1st Gens (62'-65') start by tackling the steering / alignment since it appears to be one of the weaker factory points. Most install a Classic Performance Parts' Mini Sub-frame kit or equivalent. There are many other associated upgrades like 5 lug wheels and rack and pinion steering that should be given some consideration for now or later upgrades.

There has been a lot written recently about the LSx swaps as you will see from your site searches. I saw an LSx and some serious well priced parts for sale in the "62-65 parts for sale" section today that you might want to check out. You might want to visit Church Brothers Racing, father and son SNS members that produce quality products for Novas including their own. They have products for both steering and LS1 swaps that might interest you.