Chevy Nova Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I Need help finding New axle bearing for my 63 Chevy II with a GM 8.2 17 spline this is my first time on this site and I seen a thread talking about having axles converted to 5 lug at the machine shop that’s exactly what I did on mine now the problem I’m having is finding the New bearing
part # RW-506a if anyone can help locate or steer me in the right direction it would be greatly appreciated thanks in advance

· Registered
2,856 Posts
The 1962 - 63 Nova rear axle bearing has become very difficult to find. It is a Nova only item and an antiquated design. Has not been made in a long time. There have been rumblings of it maybe being repoped, but I wouldn't bet on it.

Bearing number per the Delco NDH catalog is RW506AR. GM part number is 907370. Need to be careful shopping for these, as there are quite a few other bearing assemblies that look the same w/ similar numbers.

They do pop-up on eBay infrequently. Usually north of $100 per bearing. Have to just be persistent.

· Registered
4,694 Posts
This thread was posted in 2015 by @JBimmolate aka Miles. He has an axle/differential shop in Stockton, Ca.

1963 wagon
4,183 Posts
There was a company (Centric maybe) that started making them for a short period then they too discontinued them as well. As far as I know they are not being made by anyone as of right now.

Miles

· Premium Member
844 Posts
Might be easier to just buy and swap out the rear axle with one from a 65, 66, 67 chevy ll axle if you can find one. They are easier to work on and parts are easily available. Just saying. I also think that if you mic the bearing you might be able to find one used for another application,

· Registered
2,856 Posts
I am just wondering if this bearing might be used in another application, not Nova or perhaps even auto related?
Perhaps a bearing distributor could find something?