Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
461 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys I used the the wiring diagrams and got all the wiring hooked up properly. The problem is with my turn signal switch. The wire that moves the switch slides without actually moving the clamp so only my front turn signals work. When I do slide the switch with my hand there is no problem so the wiring is perfect. I have tried two switches and still the same problem. Anyone have a similar problem? Any mods to solve this problem? Also my tail light socket fall out easily. Previous owner taped them but I replaced the sockets. Any suggestions there?

·
Registered
1,211 Posts
Huh?? I am not sure what switch you can mount on the dash? Also your symptom of only the front blinker working as a result of a switch is confusing. I am no expert, but I have worked on mine and believe I understand the system.

Are you talking about the mico switch under the dash mounted on the column? If so there is a fine wire from the colunm level piviot to this switch which is known to be problematic. This was a year one only set up. Not very robust. The shop manual describes it as a 'self correcting' switch which means some times it slips but will supposedly fix itself. That describes how mine works, thankfully. As I remember there is a section in the shop manual that notes the wire can slip through the little friction lever/ bracket attached to the micro switch and describes a procedure to adjust it if it does not fix itself. I would follow that procedure and make sure the wire and its lever components are in fact working properly. (Pivot point screw coming loose or being to tight is also problematic), You can verify the wire and switch's phyiscal operation if you stand on your head while moving the TS lever. Second option is to change out to 63-65 column which has a more modern type contact switch at the lever.