Chevy Nova Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 78 Nova, that came with a Lm7 5.3 and 4l60e, I’m new to this and never done a swap before I need to create a list of things and parts I need. So is there anyone who can help me come up of a list of parts for getting the engine and trans to sit in the car good. I would appreciate the help

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
As someone who also recently started doing his first LS swap, I also had a bunch of question marks in my head for "what do I need". But, before you ask for help, there are things you need to decide first.

1. What is your skill level, NO BS? Can you weld? Can you machine things? Do you have access to a wide range of tools? Suggestions for "modifying" stock parts are minimized when we know that isn't the route you're trying to go, but many/most of us do to save money. Many will front that they're the next Chip Foose, but can't actually stick two metal plates to eachother in reality.
  2. Realistically, what is your actual, hard-number budget for the short-term goal of getting it in the car? $3k? $6k? How budget-minded you are effects our suggestions. If you're on a shoestring budget, then big-ticket items like expensive stainless headers can be replaced with some fabricated units from the OE manifolds.
  3. What accessories are you going to run? A/C? Power steering? This will help you decide if you want to use the factory truck accessories, or switch to F-body or Corvette, as it effects the setback of the motor mounts you use.
  4. What is your end goal for the car? Cruiser? Drag racing? Autocross? Daily driver? Most of us won't suggest yanking the goosebump-sized cam for a new one if all you want to do is drive it to and from the grocery store and work every day.