Chevy Nova Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,102 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First let me say that I'm new to this Chevy thing. I'm more of a Pontiac man and have a good bit of experience building these engine's, but have very little with Big Chevys, so I'm not too sure how they act, or what they like. Now my question is, I have a 454 in my 71 that is .030" over, with stock unported heads (I'm not sure the numbers off the top of my head, but they are 70-76castings), a Performer rpm intake, 1 3/4 headers, 4 speed, 3.73's, with a mechanical flat tappet cam of 284/294 adv. dur, 238/248 @.050", .567/.589 lift on a 112 LSA. This is a street strip car and I'm not sure which size of a carb I need.Depending on how you do the math, the 750 is fine, or it needs an 850/900. This is where my lack of Chevy knowledge come in, as I have no idea how this engine will want to run, what rpm range it'll want to be in, or what rpm it'll max out at. Thanks.

·
Registered
362 Posts
If you use the conventional formula (RPM x CI)/3456 it dictates about a 750. From experence, I use the following:

Race 3156(Fully ported heads/ High compression)
Street/Strip 3356(Mild ported heads/ low compression)
Street Stock 3456 (stock heads/ low compression)

Assuming you shift at 6000rpm here is what I came up with:
(6000 x 454)/3356= 811cfm
So I would say an 800-850 would be in the ball park.

Here is the biggest problem I think most people have, run a carb to small you give up HP but the car is extremely responsive and tuneable, run too big a carb and it will be slugglish on bottom end due to poor signal related to velocity but HP should be there.

·
Premium Member
2,354 Posts